Mollie, your not the first woman to have to go to work to help your family. Millions before you tied back their hair and left the safety of their homes to provide. Some during war, Some during economic hard times like the depression, some because they knew there was more out there than a dirty dish. You have to decide how you are going to look at the situation we are in because it will define the experience you have.”

Ok so for the last few years I have been using my facebook page as a kind of blog, dropping off bits of humor, info and momentary bursts of insanity. I realize now that perhaps that is not the best place for my anachronistic rants or interests as it limits the amount of people I can play with without letting them have full access to not only myself but my friends through me as well. So I have decided to try my hand at blogging.

The first thing that comes to mind as I write all of this down is fear. Not the “oh my gosh my belt doesn’t match my shoes” kind of fear but the “what if no one reads my blog” kind of fear or the even worse ” What if they do read my blog then send me copies back with corrected grammar scribbled in red ink!” lol Perhaps that is going a bit overboard but as a first time blogger anything and almost everything is possible.

Getting started I suppose I should introduce myself. My name is Mollie von T and I love all things vintage. To clarify, that means cloths,hair ,make-up,cooking,baking,gardening, and DIY crafts lovingly called folk art. You get the idea. I love to make something from nothing and stretch a penny into a quarter which in this day and age is something we can all use a little help with.

I suppose I first really got interested in these topics when my husband lost his job. For the first time in a while I was not only in charge of caring for myself but for my household as well. I had to find a way to pay the rent, buy the groceries,keep the house as well as work full time all while keeping that “kept up” girl next door vintage look. 

Let me tell you, it wasn’t easy and it still isn’t but I had help from friends and family and now I want to pass that info on to you.

Through it all my husband has been a rock of quiet wisdom and his words of encouragement still ring true as the day he first said them. He said ” Mollie, your not the first woman to have to go to work to help your family. Millions before you tied back their hair and left the safety of their homes to provide. Some during war, Some during economic hard times like the depression, some because they knew there was more out there than a dirty dish. You have to decide how you are going to look at the situation we are in because it will define the experience you have.”  He was right. I had to decide if I was a Marilyn or a Rosie (as in the riviter)

Turned out I already knew the answer and I’ve been a Rosie ever since 🙂

As it turned out it was six months before my husband was able to find another job and that was at a huge pay cut. The funny thing though is that we had gotten so good at living off practically nothing that even with that pay cut we were able to not only get by but begin to save.

It is with pride I can tell you that with patients and perseverance you can not only survive but thrive in these hard economic times.Be you a Marilyn or a Rosie you can learn to be a depression era darling!Image

 

 

